Gluten-free cooking & eating with Kikkoman gluten-free sauces
Gluten is a combination of proteins, lipids and carbohydrates that can be found in many grain varieties, such as wheat, barley, oats, rye and spelt. Most people don’t have a problem with gluten. But anyone who suffers from celiac disease or has a gluten allergy will suffer from symptoms such as abdominal discomfort or bloating unless they eliminate gluten from their diet.
Tip! Look out for the symbol at the supermarket
Celiac disease is much more widely known today than it was in the past. That‘s why retailers now stock a comprehensive range of gluten-free products. Most of them will have the crossed grain symbol on their label indicating that they are gluten-free. Some grains such as rice, corn, millet, buckwheat, amaranth and quinoa don’t contain gluten. You can combine them with vegetables, poultry, meat, fish or seafood to make delicious salads and mains.
Wheat and other grains that contain gluten are seldom used in Asian cuisine, so it‘s a great source of inspiration for people on a gluten-free diet. You won’t feel you’re missing out on anything at all with a tasty wok-cooked dish served with rice. And you can use zucchini noodles as a substitute in pasta dishes. They're very easy to make with a spiralizer. Omelettes with seasonal vegetables are another gluten-free food. And when you’re baking, if you use the right type of flour you can enjoy gluten-free bread, cakes and biscuits.
If you‘re gluten intolerant, take a look at our recipe collection. You'll find it includes a range of delicious gluten-free dishes. And you can add the unique Kikkoman flavour kick with our Naturally Brewed Tamari Gluten-free Soy Sauce and Gluten-free Teriyaki Marinade.