Not everybody tolerates wheat, barley and Co.
Wheat is the UK’s number one staple food. It’s an excellent source of dietary fibre, carbohydrates, calcium and vitamins, and indispensable to modern-day cuisine. Unfortunately, however, some people don’t tolerate wheat, barley, rye and other cereals. Just one bite of a piece of toast can give them stomach cramps, nausea, diarrhoea and bloating. According to the NHS Society one in every hundred UK citizens has gluten intolerance. It can occur at any age and the number of sufferers is on the increase. Today, there is far greater public awareness for gluten intolerance. Food retailers have responded to this growing awareness by introducing a wide range of gluten-free products. There’s no need for consumers to buy gluten free products at health food stores or by mail order today, and there’s always a comprehensive selection in stock at supermarkets.
Enjoying soy sauce despite gluten intolerance
Kikkoman naturally brewed Tamari gluten-free soy sauce comes with the same rich, savoury taste and flavour you’ve come to expect from Kikkoman Soy Sauce. It is certified gluten-free and naturally brewed from four ingredients — water, soybeans, salt and spirit vinegar. Furthermore our naturally brewed Tamari gluten-free soy sauce is now halal-certified as alcohol is substituted with vinegar.
It’s getting far easier for people with coeliac disease to get hold of gluten-free products. But gluten intolerance can still pose a challenge to restaurant or canteen operators. There are lots of gluten-free foods, but what about seasoning? Chefs who like to season with soy sauce will be happy to hear that our naturally brewed Tamari gluten-free soy sauce is now also available in a practical 1 litre PET bottle.
What does “gluten-free” mean?
Products are defined as “gluten-free“ if their gluten content is less than 20 ppm. This limit applies EU-wide. Our naturally brewed Tamari gluten-free soy sauce is certified with the crossed grain symbol. This shows its quality and safety. Therefore it can be consumed by people who are gluten intolerant without hesitation.